Who is Rubicon Technology Partners?

Rubicon Technology Partners is a private equity firm that invests only in enterprise software. The firm is headquartered in Boulder, Colorado, with offices in Palo Alto, California and New Haven, Connecticut. Rubicon was founded in 2012, and founding partner John Hodge came to the firm from a senior technology investment banking career.

Rubicon manages more than $4 billion in cumulative commitments. Fund IV closed at $1.7 billion in November 2023, 34 percent larger than the $1.27 billion Fund III raised in 2020. At the Fund IV close Rubicon reported $3.8 billion in assets under management and 66 completed transactions, split between 19 platform investments and 47 add-on acquisitions.

Buy-and-build is central to the model. Rubicon’s website now counts more than 25 platform investments and more than 70 add-ons, so a founder may hear from Rubicon directly or from one of its portfolio companies acting as the acquirer. Serial examples are easy to find: EverTrue completed at least five add-ons between 2022 and 2025, Bamboo Rose completed four, and Aline was itself assembled from a three-company merger before buying more.

What does Rubicon Technology Partners buy?

Rubicon buys B2B enterprise software companies that hold leading positions in defined markets. The firm’s published Fund IV criteria are specific: control equity investments of $50 million to $350 million in companies with $15 million to $75 million of annual recurring revenue.

Criterion Rubicon’s stated profile Source
Sector B2B enterprise software Fund IV press release, November 2023
Revenue band $15 million to $75 million ARR Fund IV press release, November 2023
Check size $50 million to $350 million, control equity Fund IV press release, November 2023
Value creation Market share growth, M&A execution, operating efficiency, AI applied company by company Fund IV press release; rubicontp.com
Capital source Fund IV, $1.7 billion, closed November 2023; $3.8 billion AUM at close PR Newswire, November 2023

The control requirement is worth reading literally. Rubicon buys majority positions, so a Rubicon deal means the founder sells control, often keeping a minority rollover stake. Founders comparing that against a growth-equity minority check are comparing different transactions, and Windsor Drake’s offer-received hub covers how to read each structure.

What has Rubicon Technology Partners actually acquired?

Rubicon’s platform record is long and dated on its own news page. Recent platforms cluster in vertical and workflow software.

Platform What it does Announced Disclosed terms
CaseWorthy Human services case management software June 2026 Not disclosed
Procede Software Dealer management software for commercial trucks January 2026 Not disclosed
Nuqleous Retail space planning and analytics July 2025 Not disclosed
CollegeNET Higher education scheduling and admissions software March 2025 Not disclosed
Work Truck Solutions Commercial vehicle commerce platform March 2025 Not disclosed
Nulogy Supply chain collaboration software February 2024 Not disclosed
Ascend Analytics Energy market analytics software March 2024 Not disclosed
Tacton Configure, price, quote software for manufacturers July 2023 Not disclosed
Aline Senior living software, merger of Enquire, Glennis, and Sherpa May 2023 Not disclosed
Cin7 Inventory management SaaS September 2019 Not disclosed; $500 million continuation fund, November 2024

Exits show the other side of the model. Rubicon sold a majority stake in Uplight at a $1.5 billion valuation in July 2021, sold AppNeta to Broadcom in December 2021, and sold Vision Government Solutions in May 2025. Earlier exits include Personify in 2018, Astute in 2019, and Aucerna in 2019.

What does Rubicon Technology Partners typically pay?

Rubicon publishes its check range but not its prices. The $50 million to $350 million control equity band is disclosed in the Fund IV announcement. No entry purchase price or multiple for a Rubicon platform has been publicly disclosed.

Two reference points exist, both from later events. The Uplight stake sale in 2021 set a $1.5 billion valuation on a Rubicon-built platform at exit. The Cin7 continuation vehicle raised $500 million in 2024, a fund size rather than a company valuation. Neither number tells a founder what Rubicon paid on the way in.

Windsor Drake’s published valuation research puts PE platform acquisitions of SaaS companies at 4 to 6 times revenue and add-on acquisitions at 3 to 5 times revenue. Whether Rubicon approaches a founder as a new platform or as an add-on to an existing platform is therefore the single biggest pricing variable in the conversation.

How does Rubicon Technology Partners find companies?

Rubicon does not publish a sourcing posture. Enterprise software companies at $15 million to $75 million ARR are heavily covered by bankers, and Rubicon has completed dozens of transactions, so the firm plainly participates in banked processes as well as direct conversations.

The add-on machine changes who makes first contact. With more than 70 add-ons completed, outreach often arrives from a Rubicon portfolio company such as Aline, Bamboo Rose, or EverTrue rather than from the fund itself. An add-on approach is still a Rubicon approach, and it usually carries a lower implied multiple than a platform deal.

What does a Rubicon Technology Partners approach look like?

A platform approach follows the standard fund sequence: an introductory call, a metrics request covering ARR, growth, retention, and margins, an indication of interest, then a letter of intent with exclusivity. Standard exclusivity asks run 30 to 90 days, and Windsor Drake recommends conceding no more than 30 to 45 days.

An add-on approach moves faster and prices tighter, because the portfolio company already has a thesis and a budget. Roughly 1 in 3 signed LOIs fails to close on original terms, so a founder should treat either version of the first number as an opening position.

What is life like after selling to Rubicon Technology Partners?

Rubicon states that alignment with the leaders of its companies is central to its model, and its site carries CEO testimonials describing a strategic-partnership style. Buy-and-build is the default plan, so a Rubicon platform CEO usually becomes an acquirer within a year or two, the way Cin7 bought DEAR Systems and Orderhive and Aline completed a string of add-ons.

Independent, non-marketing founder accounts of Rubicon ownership are scarce in the public record. Windsor Drake has not yet verified first-person interviews and treats the firm’s own testimonials as marketing until then.

Who else competes with Rubicon Technology Partners?

An enterprise software company with $15 million to $75 million ARR sits in the busiest part of the buyout market. Direct competitors include Thoma Bravo’s smaller funds, Vista Equity Partners, Accel-KKR, Mainsail Partners, Turn/River Capital, and Sverica Capital Management at the lower end of the band. Strategic acquirers in the company’s own vertical frequently outbid all of them.

Windsor Drake’s published valuation research finds strategic acquirers pay premiums of 15 to 30 percent over financial buyers for comparable software assets. A Rubicon offer should therefore be benchmarked against the strategics in the company’s category, not only against other funds.

What would a competitive process change for a founder Rubicon has approached?

The Proprietary Discount is the gap between what a serial acquirer pays in an unbanked bilateral negotiation and what the same business clears in a competitive process. Windsor Drake measures that gap at 15 to 25 percent of enterprise value. Rubicon has closed more than 90 transactions and negotiates for a living; a founder sells once.

A Windsor Drake process puts a universe of 150 to 300 potential acquirers around one asset, which forces Rubicon to bid against the rivals it already knows. Founders weighing whether to hire an advisor at all can start with Windsor Drake’s guide on whether founders need a banker.

A founder holding a live Rubicon offer can engage Windsor Drake’s Approach Response to build competitive tension in 4 to 6 months without losing the deal on the table.

Questions founders ask

Who founded Rubicon Technology Partners?

Rubicon Technology Partners was founded in 2012. John Hodge, a former senior technology investment banker, is a founding partner. The firm is headquartered in Boulder, Colorado.

How big is Rubicon Technology Partners’ current fund?

Rubicon closed Fund IV at $1.7 billion in November 2023, its largest fund to date. Fund III raised $1.27 billion in 2020, and the firm reported $3.8 billion in assets under management at the Fund IV close.

What check size does Rubicon write?

Rubicon’s published Fund IV range is $50 million to $350 million in control equity per investment, targeting enterprise software companies with $15 million to $75 million of annual recurring revenue.

Does Rubicon buy minority stakes?

Rubicon’s stated model is control equity. Founders typically sell a majority, often keeping a minority rollover stake. Founders seeking a pure minority growth check are describing a different buyer category.

What has Rubicon paid in past deals?

No Rubicon entry price has been publicly disclosed. The public reference points are exits: a $1.5 billion valuation on the 2021 Uplight stake sale and a $500 million continuation fund for Cin7 in 2024, which is a fund size, not a purchase price.

What happens if a Rubicon portfolio company approaches a founder?

That is an add-on approach. Add-on acquisitions generally price below platform deals; Windsor Drake’s published valuation research puts SaaS add-ons at 3 to 5 times revenue versus 4 to 6 times for platforms. The distinction should be established before any price talk.

Should a founder negotiate with Rubicon alone?

Rubicon has completed more than 90 platform and add-on transactions; a founder sells one company once. Windsor Drake measures the bilateral-versus-competitive gap, The Proprietary Discount, at 15 to 25 percent of enterprise value, which is the cost of negotiating alone.

Key Facts

  • Rubicon Technology Partners is an enterprise software private equity firm headquartered in Boulder, Colorado, with offices in Palo Alto and New Haven.
  • Rubicon makes control equity investments of $50 million to $350 million in companies with $15 million to $75 million of ARR, invests from a $1.7 billion Fund IV closed in 2023, and runs a heavy buy-and-build model.
  • Rubicon has never publicly disclosed an entry purchase price.

The Proprietary Discount

The Proprietary Discount is the gap between what a serial acquirer pays in an unbanked bilateral negotiation and what the same business clears in a competitive process. Windsor Drake publishes the measurement as The Windsor Drake Proprietary Discount Index.

Holding an Offer?

Independent sell-side M&A advisory for fintech founders. The firm represents founder-led companies in sell-side M&A from its Toronto headquarters.

Approach Response ›