Who is Susquehanna Growth Equity?

Susquehanna Growth Equity, known as SGE, is a growth equity firm founded in 2006 and headquartered at 10 Monument Road in Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, with offices in New York and Ra’anana, Israel. Amir Goldman founded the group and remains its senior investor. SGE invests the private capital of the founders of Susquehanna International Group (SIG), the Bala Cynwyd trading firm, rather than money raised from outside limited partners.

SGE’s own portfolio page lists more than 150 current and exited companies across software, fintech, and information services. A GrowthCap profile of the firm reports annual deployment that has grown from roughly $100 to $150 million per year to $200 to $300 million or more. SGE invests across North America, Europe, Israel, and South Asia.

What does SGE’s evergreen capital mean for a founder?

SGE has no outside limited partners and no fund clock. Conventional private equity firms raise ten year funds and must sell every company to return capital on schedule; SGE invests one family’s balance sheet and can hold a position indefinitely. GrowthCap describes SGE’s orientation as money on money rather than IRR driven, meaning the firm optimizes total profit rather than annualized speed of return.

The evergreen structure cuts both ways for a founder. SGE can wait longer than a fund based buyer, can stage liquidity across multiple tranches, and never forces a sale to meet a fund deadline. The same patience means SGE feels no pressure to pay top of market today, because SGE’s capital has no deployment deadline either. In a bilateral negotiation, patience is a pricing advantage, and the evergreen investor holds it.

What does Susquehanna Growth Equity buy?

SGE invests in software, information services, fintech, healthcare IT, edtech, HR tech, and payments companies. The firm provides capital for growth, for acquisitions, and for shareholder liquidity, in both minority and control structures. SGE publishes no check size bands, revenue thresholds, or EBITDA requirements. The disclosed $18 million Thread check marks the low end of SGE’s demonstrated range, and the deployment pace GrowthCap reports implies substantially larger single checks elsewhere in the portfolio.

Criterion What SGE states or what the record shows Source
Capital source Evergreen capital from SIG’s founders; no outside limited partners sgep.com; GrowthCap profile
Check size Not published; disclosed deals include an $18 million minority investment (Thread, December 2025) Business Wire
Sectors Software, information services, fintech, healthcare IT, edtech, HR tech, payments sgep.com portfolio
Geography North America, Europe, Israel, South Asia sgep.com
Ownership Minority and majority; growth, acquisition funding, shareholder liquidity sgep.com
Hold period No fixed horizon; evergreen structure permits indefinite holds sgep.com; GrowthCap profile

What has SGE actually invested in?

SGE’s best known outcomes include Credit Karma, acquired by Intuit, Workfront, acquired by Adobe, and Payoneer, Outbrain, and eToro, all now public on Nasdaq. iCIMS, the talent acquisition platform SGE backed, took a majority investment from Vista Equity Partners in 2018. In December 2025 SGE announced an $18 million minority investment in Thread, an AI service desk platform for managed service providers.

Company Sector Outcome or status Disclosed terms
Thread AI service desk software for MSPs Minority investment, December 2025 $18 million check; valuation not disclosed
Credit Karma Consumer fintech Acquired by Intuit, 2020 Not disclosed in SGE materials
Workfront Work management software Acquired by Adobe, 2020 Not disclosed in SGE materials
Payoneer Global payments Public, Nasdaq: PAYO Public listing
Outbrain Advertising technology Public, Nasdaq: OB Public listing
eToro Retail investing platform Public, Nasdaq: ETOR Public listing
iCIMS Talent acquisition software Vista Equity Partners majority investment, 2018 Not disclosed
HighRadius Order to cash software Portfolio company Not disclosed
Phorest Salon management software Portfolio company Not disclosed

The exit pattern across SGE’s portfolio runs through strategic acquirers and public listings. Intuit bought Credit Karma, Adobe bought Workfront, F5 bought Versafe, and Trimble bought 10-4 Systems, while Payoneer, Outbrain, and eToro listed on Nasdaq. SGE’s own returns have come from selling into competitive demand at the top of the market, which is worth remembering when SGE sits on the buying side of the table.

What does SGE typically pay?

SGE does not disclose valuations, and almost none of its investments carry published terms. The Thread announcement disclosed an $18 million check but no valuation, which is as much pricing detail as SGE’s public record offers. What is unknown includes SGE’s check bands, target ownership percentages, and any multiple SGE has paid in any transaction.

Windsor Drake’s published valuation research places private equity platform acquisitions of SaaS companies at 4 to 6 times revenue. Whether an evergreen investor prices above or below fund based competitors cannot be verified from public data, because SGE publishes no terms at all. The only reliable way to test an SGE number is to put other bidders next to it.

How does SGE find companies and approach founders?

SGE positions itself as entrepreneur centric, markets directly to founders of bootstrapped companies, and takes unsolicited pitches at a published address. Like most growth equity firms, SGE staffs investors by sector whose job is to reach founders directly, before an advisor or a process exists. The firm publishes no stated position against banked auctions.

A first SGE conversation typically opens with questions about growth, retention, and current ownership rather than a price. An approach without a number is still an approach, and it starts the pricing conversation on the buyer’s information. The response playbook at Windsor Drake’s offer received hub applies from the first unsolicited email, not from the first term sheet.

What is life like after taking SGE money?

SGE’s public positioning stresses founder control: no fixed time horizons, no imposed operating playbook, and liquidity offered in stages rather than one exit event. GrowthCap reports that more than 85 percent of SGE portfolio companies remain founder led. Portfolio founders including Phorest’s Ronan Perceval and HighRadius’s Sashi Narahari appear in SGE’s own marketing.

Independent founder accounts outside SGE’s own channels are scarce in public sources. Amir Goldman has discussed the firm’s fintech investing approach on the Tearsheet podcast, and SGE publishes founder testimonials on its own site, but neither substitutes for direct references. A founder considering SGE should request references from founders who sold control positions, not only from founders who took minority checks, because the two experiences answer different questions.

Who else would compete with SGE for a deal?

Firms pursuing the same companies include LLR Partners, the Philadelphia growth firm investing from a $2.45 billion seventh fund, Bregal Sagemount in New York, and Serent Capital in founder-led B2B software. Fintech and payments assets also draw strategic acquirers, and Windsor Drake’s published valuation research shows strategic buyers paying 15 to 30 percent premiums over financial buyers. A conversation limited to one growth firm therefore excludes the buyer category most likely to set the top price.

What would a competitive process change?

The Proprietary Discount is the gap between what a serial acquirer pays in an unbanked bilateral negotiation and what the same business clears in a competitive process, and Windsor Drake puts that gap at 15 to 25 percent of enterprise value. SGE’s evergreen patience makes the bilateral version of that negotiation harder for founders, because the investor with no deadline can always wait out the seller who has one.

Competition moves the deadline from the founder to the market. Windsor Drake’s sell side processes open with a buyer universe of 150 to 300 potential acquirers, and a process run alongside a live offer takes 4 to 6 months. Whether to hire an advisor at all is a separate decision, covered in Do I need a banker.

If SGE has approached you, Windsor Drake’s Approach Response engagement is built for founders holding a live inbound offer.

Questions founders ask

Is Susquehanna Growth Equity part of SIG?

Yes. SGE invests the private capital of the founders of Susquehanna International Group and is headquartered alongside SIG in Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania. SGE has no outside limited partners.

What does SGE’s evergreen structure mean?

Evergreen means SGE invests permanent balance sheet capital instead of ten year funds. SGE never has to sell a company to return money to fund investors, so it can hold indefinitely and stage founder liquidity over time.

Does SGE buy majority stakes or only minority positions?

Both. SGE provides capital for growth, acquisitions, and shareholder liquidity in minority and control structures. The December 2025 Thread deal was a disclosed minority investment.

What check sizes does SGE write?

SGE publishes no check size range. The Thread investment disclosed an $18 million check, and GrowthCap reports SGE deploying $200 to $300 million or more per year across its portfolio.

Does SGE disclose what it pays?

No. SGE publishes no valuations or multiples for any transaction. Founders negotiating with SGE alone have no SGE-specific pricing benchmark, which is an argument for creating competition before agreeing terms.

Does SGE force an exit eventually?

SGE’s evergreen capital imposes no fund driven exit deadline. Any liquidity rights, redemption terms, or drag along provisions come from the negotiated investment documents, not from a fund structure, so those documents deserve close review.

Should I reply to an SGE cold email?

Reply without sharing financials. An unsolicited approach signals real buyer interest in your category, and the right first move is establishing alternatives; the gap between bilateral and competitive outcomes runs 15 to 25 percent of enterprise value.

Key Facts

  • Susquehanna Growth Equity (SGE) is a Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania growth investor funded entirely by the founders of trading firm Susquehanna International Group.
  • SGE invests evergreen capital in software, fintech, and healthcare IT companies, with no outside limited partners and no fund clock.
  • SGE almost never discloses deal terms.
  • The evergreen structure removes SGE’s deadline pressure, so founders should price any SGE offer against a competitive market.

The Proprietary Discount

The Proprietary Discount is the gap between what a serial acquirer pays in an unbanked bilateral negotiation and what the same business clears in a competitive process. Windsor Drake publishes the measurement as The Windsor Drake Proprietary Discount Index.

Holding an Offer?

Independent sell-side M&A advisory for fintech founders. The firm represents founder-led companies in sell-side M&A from its Toronto headquarters.

Approach Response ›