Best Boutique M&A Firms (2026): Top 12 Ranked | Windsor Drake

The 12 Best Boutique M&A Firms of 2026, Ranked

Ranked for founder-led companies against the seven weighted criteria in the methodology. Placement cannot be purchased and no firm paid for inclusion. Firm names link to full profiles with sources; where a firm publishes no figure, the cell says not publicly disclosed.

The 12 best boutique M&A firms and larger middle-market alternatives for founder-led companies, ranked, 2026
Rank / Firm Category Best fit Public deal-size / company-size focus Sectors Geography Sell-side only or broader platform Fees disclosed? Verified
Nos. 1–7 · Specialist and founder-focused advisors
1. Windsor Drake Specialist, fintech & software Founder-led fintech, payments and B2B software companies at $5M–$300M EV wanting a managing-director-led, sell-side-only process "$5 million to $300 million" in enterprise value Fintech, payments, B2B software, cybersecurity, AI software New York, Toronto Sell-side only Partially: engagement structure and minimum published, rates discussed in consultation Aug 2026
2. Software Equity Group Specialist, software B2B software and SaaS sellers at $5M–$100M revenue wanting a sell-side-only specialist "$5 million and $100 million (or more) in annual revenue" B2B software, SaaS and AI exclusively Encinitas, CA; clients in US, Canada, UK, Australia, NZ Sell-side only Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
3. iMerge Advisors Specialist, software Software founders at $3M–$50M ARR wanting principal-led, sell-side-only representation "$3M to $50M ARR"; published tiers map to $20M–$300M enterprise value Software, SaaS and AI exclusively Boston, Dallas, Seattle, San Francisco; clients in US, Canada, Europe, ANZ Sell-side only Partially: retainer-plus-success-fee structure published, rates not Aug 2026
4. FOCUS Investment Banking Specialist, US / Europe Owners inside one of 11 named verticals wanting senior-led middle-market coverage Not publicly disclosed (self-describes as middle market) 11 verticals, incl. fintech, healthcare, manufacturing, technology services Washington, DC HQ; US, UK, Ireland Sell-side and buy-side M&A, capital raising Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
5. FirePower Capital Specialist, Canada Canadian founder-led companies wanting one Toronto team across M&A and financing Sell-side transactions "up to $500M" (deal size; no floor published) 11 published sectors, incl. software & tech, industrials, services Toronto; Canadian focus Sell-side and buy-side M&A, plus private debt and private equity Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
6. Founders Advisors Specialist, US Southeast Middle-market owners in its six industries across the Southeast and Texas Not publicly disclosed (self-describes as middle market) Technology, business services, consumer, energy, industrials, healthcare Birmingham, Dallas, Nashville M&A and growth capital; sell-side and buy-side roles Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
7. Mariner (formerly Woodbridge International) Specialist, auction generalist Owners of $10M–$150M revenue businesses wanting a timed global auction "Annual revenues between $10 million and $150 million+" (revenue; an FAQ page states $5M–$150M) Generalist; transactions cited in 30+ industries West Hartford, CT; global buyer outreach Sell-side auction model Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
Nos. 8–12 · Larger middle-market alternatives
8. Capstone Partners Larger middle-market Middle-market owners wanting a bank-owned platform combining M&A with debt and equity placement Not publicly disclosed ("built for the middle market") 12 dedicated industry groups Boston HQ; offices across the US Full service: M&A, capital advisory, restructuring, valuation Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
9. Lincoln International Larger middle-market Mid-market companies whose sale depends on cross-border buyer coverage Not publicly disclosed ("top global M&A advisor to the mid-market") Seven published industry groups 30+ offices in 14 countries M&A, capital advisory, private funds advisory, valuations (NYSE: LCLN) Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
10. Harris Williams Larger middle-market Middle-market sales, often sponsor-driven, that benefit from global private equity coverage Not publicly disclosed ("middle market mergers & acquisitions") 9+ published industry groups plus financial sponsor coverage Nine North American offices; Frankfurt, London, Greater China M&A, private capital solutions, primary fund placement Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
11. William Blair Larger middle-market Owners wanting an employee-owned global bank pairing M&A with equity and debt capability Not publicly disclosed 12 published banking sectors Chicago HQ; 30+ offices worldwide with partners Sell- and buy-side M&A, board advisory, equity and debt financing Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026
12. Houlihan Lokey Global investment bank Complex or special situations wanting the most active M&A franchise by transaction count Not publicly disclosed 11 published industry groups Los Angeles HQ; Americas, Europe, Middle East, Asia Pacific Full service: M&A, capital solutions, restructuring, valuation advisory (NYSE: HLI) Not publicly disclosed Aug 2026

Every factual cell is sourced in the linked firm profile below, against the firm's own pages, filings or dated releases, all accessed August 20, 2026. Size figures are quoted in each firm's own metric; revenue, ARR, EBITDA and enterprise value are not interchangeable and are never converted into one another here. Raymond James, a full-service financial institution rather than a boutique or middle-market specialist, is covered in a separate note.

Request a Confidential Fit Assessment

Tell us your sector, revenue or EBITDA range and timing. A senior advisor will tell you candidly whether Windsor Drake fits, and what advisor profile to interview if it does not.

Request a confidential valuation ›

How We Ranked the Firms

This ranking orders 12 firms by fit for one reader: the founder or owner of a North American company, roughly $5 million to $300 million in enterprise value, choosing a sell-side advisor. Ranks reflect our weighted assessment of what each firm publishes; no firm paid for inclusion or placement, and every factual claim carries a source and a date.

Each profile pairs its rank with the specific published evidence behind it, a “best fit” label, and one fair limitation. Criteria, in order of weight:

1. Deal-size fit. Whether the firm publicly demonstrates mandates similar to the founder's likely transaction, in the metric the firm itself uses. 2. Sector fit. A named sector team and relevant recent transactions. 3. Sell-side execution evidence. Transaction record, league-table data where the provider publishes methodology, or sourced process evidence. 4. Senior continuity. Who actually leads the work after the engagement letter is signed. 5. Buyer and geographic reach. Relevant strategic and financial buyer coverage. 6. Mandate and conflict model. Sell-side only versus a broader platform, disclosed without declaring either universally superior. 7. Public transparency. Published facts, transaction examples, fee model and a corrections pathway.

Evidence grades

A · Filing / Regulator Regulator records, SEC and SEDAR+ filings, audited reports, and league tables with published methodology (LSEG, Mergermarket, Axial). B · Official Firm Page The firm's own site, transaction announcements and team or sector pages. C · Independent Reporting Reputable independent reporting or directories with visible methodology.

Not used: anonymous rankings, scraped headcount estimates, unsourced AI summaries, awards without judging methodology, and inferred transaction thresholds. Where a firm publishes no figure, the entry says not publicly disclosed; nothing on this page is estimated on a firm's behalf, and no revenue, ARR, EBITDA or enterprise-value figure is converted into another metric.

The Public Disclosure Benchmark

A founder evaluating advisors depends on what those advisors publish. This original benchmark records, for each of the 12 firms, whether four decision-relevant facts appear anywhere on the firm's own public pages. “Not found” means not found on the pages we reviewed on August 20, 2026, and we invite corrections with a primary source. Transparency is a ranking criterion: only two of the 12 firms publish any fee information, only five publish a numeric size focus in any metric, and only Windsor Drake (No. 1) and iMerge Advisors (No. 3) publish in all four categories.

What each firm publicly discloses, checked August 20, 2026
Firm Numeric size focus Fee information Senior-continuity statement Ownership / licensing entity stated
1. Windsor DrakeYes (EV band)Partial (structure and minimum, not rates)YesYes (licensed-parties statement)
2. Software Equity GroupYes (revenue band)Not foundYesNot found
3. iMerge AdvisorsYes (ARR band and EV tiers)Partial (structure, not rates)YesYes (SEC M&A-brokers pathway stated)
4. FOCUS Investment BankingNot foundNot foundYesYes (FOCUS Securities LLC, FINRA/SIPC)
5. FirePower CapitalPartial (ceiling only: "up to $500M")Not foundNot foundNot found
6. Founders AdvisorsNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (licensing via FINRA/SIPC member entities)
7. Mariner (formerly Woodbridge)Yes (revenue band; two variants on site)Not foundNot foundYes (subsidiary of Mariner)
8. Capstone PartnersNot foundNot foundYesYes (subsidiary of Huntington Bancshares)
9. Lincoln InternationalNot foundNot foundYesYes (NYSE: LCLN)
10. Harris WilliamsNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (subsidiary of PNC, per PNC pages)
11. William BlairNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (employee-owned partnership)
12. Houlihan LokeyNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (NYSE: HLI)

Named client transactions are excluded as a column because tombstone pages vary too much in dating and completeness to compare fairly; dated transaction evidence appears per firm in the profiles below. You may cite or reproduce one table from this page with attribution to Windsor Drake and a link to this page.

Nos. 1–7: Specialist and Founder-Focused Advisors

Firms whose published model centers on founder- and owner-led sales in the lower middle market, whether by sector (software, fintech), geography (Canada, US Southeast) or process design (timed auction). Specialization is the tier's defining trait; each profile states the firm's own published scope, the evidence behind its rank, and one fair limitation. For what the sell-side role itself involves, see our primer on sell-side M&A advisory.

1. Windsor Drake

New York · Toronto

Why No. 1
Highest combined score on the criteria: sell-side only, a published $5M–$300M enterprise-value band, the only published capacity cap in the ranking (fewer than twenty mandates a year, each led personally by managing director Jeff Barrington), and the most specific fee disclosure of the 12, including minimum and tail terms.
Best fit
Founder-led fintech, payments and B2B software companies between $5M and $300M in enterprise value that want a sell-side-only process led personally by the managing director.
Published size focus
Enterprise values between “$5 million and $300 million” (enterprise value).
Sector focus
Fintech and payments, B2B software and SaaS, cybersecurity and AI software.
Geography
Toronto; North American sellers with cross-border buyer coverage.
Mandate model
Sell-side only. “We represent owners selling founder-led and family-owned companies, and we do not do anything else.” No buy-side mandates against clients, no lending relationships. See the firm and how we run a sale.
Senior continuity
Founder and Managing Director Jeff Barrington leads every engagement the firm accepts; the firm accepts fewer than twenty mandates annually.
Recent evidence
The firm publishes a quarterly valuation and M&A research library (55+ sector reports) and states more than $750 million in advised technology transaction value since 2018, a principal-level figure that includes prior roles. Named client transactions are not published; engagements are confidential.
Fees
Partially disclosed: the engagement structure is published, a monthly advisory fee plus a graduated success fee, with a $5 million enterprise-value minimum for a cash-fee mandate and an 18-month tail limited to parties contacted in writing. Rates are discussed in consultation. See the published fee schedule.
Potential limitation
Sector-specific by design and capacity-constrained: fewer than twenty mandates annually and no generalist coverage; owners outside fintech, payments, B2B software, cybersecurity and AI fall outside its published scope.
Primary sources
The firm · Fee schedule · Jeff Barrington · Process
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

2. Software Equity Group

Encinitas, CA

Why No. 2
The deepest published sell-side software track record in the ranking: 175+ transactions, exclusively sell-side, a $5M–$100M revenue band, and a senior-continuity commitment backed by 14+ year average banker tenure and dated 2025 closings.
Best fit
B2B software and SaaS sellers between $5M and $100M in annual revenue who want a sell-side-only software specialist.
Published size focus
Clients whose companies “generate between $5 million and $100 million (or more) in annual revenue” (revenue).
Sector focus
Software, SaaS and AI exclusively, with a B2B emphasis.
Geography
Encinitas, CA (sole published office); clients served in the US, Canada, UK, Australia and New Zealand.
Mandate model
“Exclusively sell-side focused”; the firm cites 175+ closed software transactions.
Senior continuity
“You meet your senior advisor before you sign and they lead your deal from first call to close.” The firm cites a 14+ year average tenure for its senior bankers.
Recent evidence
Exclusive advisor to Gatewise, acquired by Allegion plc, July 2025. Exclusive advisor to e-Courier on its acquisition by CXT Software, November 2025.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
Software-only scope with a single published office; no fee information and no named broker-dealer entity found on the pages reviewed.
Primary sources
Homepage (sell-side focus) · Client criteria · About (senior tenure) · Gatewise transaction
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

3. iMerge Advisors

Boston · Dallas · Seattle · San Francisco

Why No. 3
Matches Windsor Drake on transparency, size band, fee structure, continuity and regulatory pathway all published, with a principal-led, sell-side-only software mandate; ranked below Software Equity Group on published transaction volume.
Best fit
Software and technology founders between $3M and $50M ARR who want sell-side-only representation led by the firm's two principals.
Published size focus
“$3M to $50M ARR” (annual recurring revenue), with published tiers mapping to roughly $20M–$300M enterprise value.
Sector focus
Software, SaaS and AI exclusively; the firm states 100% of engagements are software and technology companies.
Geography
Boston, Dallas, Seattle and San Francisco; clients served in the US, Canada, Europe, Australia and New Zealand.
Mandate model
Sell-side only, with valuation, market-readiness and negotiation support as the published services.
Senior continuity
“Every engagement is led directly by our Managing Partner and Managing Director — never delegated to associates.” (homepage)
Recent evidence
Advised Virtual Staging AI, acquired by Zillow Group in October 2024; the acquisition is confirmed in Zillow's September 2025 press release.
Fees
Partially disclosed: “a retainer plus a success fee invoiced to you” per the firm's disclosures page; rates are not published.
Potential limitation
A deliberately narrow mandate: sell-side software only, inside a stated ARR band. The firm states it operates under the SEC's 2014 M&A-brokers no-action framework rather than as a registered broker-dealer.
Primary sources
Who we serve (size tiers) · Homepage · Disclosures (fees, regulatory pathway) · Zillow press release
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

4. FOCUS Investment Banking

Washington, DC · US, UK and Ireland footprint

Why No. 4
The strongest multi-vertical specialist evidence: a written senior-continuity commitment plus methodology-backed Axial league-table placements, across 11 verticals and two continents; no published size band.
Best fit
Owners inside one of 11 named verticals who want senior-led, middle-market coverage spanning the US and Europe.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed. The firm describes itself as a middle-market investment bank and cited “approximately $6B in completed transactions” in a February 2026 release.
Sector focus
11 published verticals: agribusiness & food, automotive, business services, consumer, energy, fintech, government & defense, healthcare, manufacturing, technology services, telecom.
Geography
Headquartered in Washington, DC; published offices and coverage across the US, UK and Ireland.
Mandate model
Sell-side and buy-side M&A, capital raising, and sale preparation.
Senior continuity
“Senior leadership stays on the deal from the first call to the closing table. We don't hand you off.” (firm's about page)
Recent evidence
Named in Axial's Q2 2026 lower-middle-market league tables, July 2026; Axial publishes its four-factor methodology. Ranked No. 1 lower-middle-market investment bank by Axial for 2023.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
No numeric size band or fee information is published, and owners outside its 11 verticals fall outside its stated coverage.
Primary sources
Industries (11 verticals) · About · Axial Q2 2026 league tables · Broker-dealer affiliation (FOCUS Securities LLC, FINRA/SIPC)
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

5. FirePower Capital

Toronto · founded 2012

Why No. 5
The clearest published fit for Canadian founders: one senior Toronto team, sell-side deal capacity to $500M, and a dated 2025 strategic exit to Accenture; no senior-continuity statement.
Best fit
Canadian founder-led companies that want a single Toronto-based team able to run a sale alongside debt or equity needs.
Published size focus
Sell-side advisory for “transactions up to $500M” (deal size). No floor is published; the firm describes its clients as lower-mid-market companies.
Sector focus
11 published sectors, including software & tech, industrials, business & IT services, logistics & transport, healthcare, financial services, and energy & sustainability.
Geography
Toronto (sole published office); self-described focus on Canadian businesses.
Mandate model
Sell-side and buy-side M&A plus private debt, private equity and corporate-development services; not sell-side only.
Senior continuity
Not publicly disclosed. The firm describes a cross-functional model in which specialists cover components of each deal.
Recent evidence
Exclusive advisor to IAMConcepts on its sale to Accenture, September 2025. Advised VL Omni on its sale to eHouse Studio, backed by Periscope Equity, June 2024.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
One published office and a stated Canadian focus; owners seeking a US-led process or a published senior-continuity commitment will not find either on the firm's site.
Primary sources
Sell-side advisory page · Sectors · IAMConcepts transaction · Contact
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

6. Founders Advisors

Birmingham, AL · Dallas · Nashville

Why No. 6
Sector-focused regional coverage with dated 2025–2026 closings in technology and healthcare, and FINRA/SIPC licensing named in its footer; no published size band or continuity commitment.
Best fit
Middle-market owners across the US Southeast and Texas in one of the firm's six industries.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed. The firm describes itself as “serving middle-market companies.”
Sector focus
Technology, business services, consumer, energy, industrials and healthcare (firm boilerplate; the homepage lists five of the six).
Geography
Birmingham, Dallas and Nashville offices.
Mandate model
M&A and strategic advisory with growth-capital work; the firm's own transaction list shows sell-side, buy-side and financial-advisor roles.
Senior continuity
Not publicly disclosed.
Recent evidence
Exclusive advisor to Turing Analytics on its sale to Novi Labs, May 2026. Advised Harmony Anesthesia Staffing on its sale to CRH Medical, a WELL Health Technologies subsidiary, January 2025.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
The published office footprint is regional and no numeric size criteria are published; securities-related services run through separate FINRA/SIPC member entities named in the firm's footer.
Primary sources
Homepage · Turing Analytics transaction · Licensing disclosure · Offices
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

7. Mariner (formerly Woodbridge International)

West Hartford, CT · global buyer outreach

Why No. 7
The highest-volume published process model, a 150-day auction marketed to a 400,000+ buyer database, with a numeric revenue band; ranked last among specialists on process tailoring and for two conflicting revenue floors on its own site.
Best fit
Owners of $10M–$150M revenue businesses, across industries, who want a timed, high-volume global auction.
Published size focus
Businesses with “annual revenues between $10 million and $150 million+” (homepage). An FAQ page on the same site states $5M–$150M; both figures are revenue, not EBITDA or enterprise value.
Sector focus
Generalist by design; the firm cites closed transactions in more than 30 industries since 1993.
Geography
West Hartford, CT (site footer); the 2024 acquisition release lists New Haven, CT and Cape Town, South Africa. Buyer outreach is global.
Mandate model
Sell-side auction: a published 150-day timeline marketed to a buyer database the firm states exceeds 400,000 parties.
Senior continuity
CEO Robert Koenig continues to run operations following the Mariner acquisition; no per-deal senior-continuity commitment is published.
Recent evidence
Sale of Universal Chemicals and Coatings to PRO-SET, January 2026. Sale of Alliance Drilling Tools to Star Equity Holdings, March 2025.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed. Valuations are advertised as free.
Potential limitation
A standardized 150-day volume auction rather than a sector-tailored process; the business is now a subsidiary brand of wealth manager Mariner, and its own site publishes two different revenue floors on different pages.
Ownership note
Mariner announced the acquisition of Woodbridge International on September 3, 2024, and the business now operates under the Mariner name; the site's legal footer reads “Mariner is a marketing name utilized by Woodbridge International LLC.”
Primary sources
Mariner acquisition announcement · Homepage (size focus) · January 2026 transaction · Acquisition FAQ
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

Nos. 8–12: Larger Middle-Market Alternatives

Banks with hundreds or thousands of professionals, global offices and broader product lines. They are not boutiques, and this guide does not present them as such; they belong in a founder's comparison because at the upper end of the lower middle market, and in cross-border or sponsor-driven processes, their coverage can decide the outcome. For the full all-tier comparison, see best M&A advisory firms.

8. Capstone Partners

Boston · offices across the US

Why No. 8
The best-fitting full-service platform for founders: a middle-market mandate, 12 industry groups, a hands-on senior commitment and in-house debt and equity placement; bank-owned, with no published size band.
Best fit
Middle-market owners who want a bank-owned, full-service platform combining M&A with debt and equity placement.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed. The firm positions itself as “a full-service investment bank built for the middle market.”
Sector focus
12 dedicated industry groups, including fintech & services, healthcare, industrials, business services and technology/media/telecom.
Geography
Boston headquarters with offices across the US; the January 2026 TM Capital announcement cites roughly 300 professionals.
Mandate model
M&A advisory (sell-side, buy-side, special situations), debt and equity placement, restructuring, valuation and fairness opinions, ESOP advisory.
Senior continuity
“Our experienced, hands-on senior leaders will be by your side every step of the way.” (homepage)
Recent evidence
Acquired TM Capital and other business units from Janney Montgomery Scott; closed December 2025, announced January 7, 2026, adding roughly 40% headcount.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
A subsidiary of Huntington Bancshares (NASDAQ: HBAN) rather than an independent boutique, with a US-only published office footprint and no published size band.
Primary sources
M&A advisory · Homepage (12 industry groups) · TM Capital announcement
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

9. Lincoln International

30+ offices in 14 countries · NYSE: LCLN

Why No. 9
Global mid-market buyer coverage, 30+ offices in 14 countries, with a published senior-bankers commitment; sponsor-heavy positioning and an award profile in the $250M–$500M category.
Best fit
Mid-market companies, frequently sponsor-owned, whose sale depends on cross-border buyer coverage.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed. The firm describes itself as “a top global M&A advisor to the mid-market.”
Sector focus
Seven published groups: business services, consumer, energy transition/power & infrastructure, financial services, healthcare, industrials, technology.
Geography
“More than 1,400 professionals in more than 30 offices in 14 countries.”
Mandate model
M&A, capital advisory and restructuring, private funds advisory, valuations and opinions.
Senior continuity
Sell-side and buy-side services “delivered by a team of experienced senior bankers” (M&A services page).
Recent evidence
Priced its IPO on May 19, 2026 and began trading on the NYSE as LCLN on May 20, 2026. Won The M&A Advisor's Cross-Border Deal of the Year ($250MM–$500MM) award, August 2026.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
A global, sponsor-heavy platform, now publicly listed; its 2026 award sits in the $250M–$500M category, above most founder-led lower-middle-market transactions, and its generic ranking language names no data provider.
Primary sources
About (scale, positioning) · M&A services · IPO pricing release
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

10. Harris Williams

Richmond, VA and eight other North American offices · Frankfurt · London · Greater China

Why No. 10
A pure middle-market M&A focus with global sponsor reach across hundreds of private equity groups; publishes no size band and no senior-continuity commitment.
Best fit
Middle-market sales, often sponsor-driven, that benefit from global private equity coverage.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed. The firm describes itself as “an investment bank focusing on middle market mergers & acquisitions.”
Sector focus
Published industry groups include aerospace/defense & government services, business services, consumer, energy/power & infrastructure, healthcare & life sciences, industrials, specialty distribution, technology, and transportation & logistics, plus a financial-sponsors coverage group.
Geography
Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Cleveland, Minneapolis, New York, Richmond, San Francisco and Washington, DC, plus Frankfurt, London and Greater China.
Mandate model
M&A advisory, private capital solutions and primary fund placement; the firm cites work with hundreds of global private equity groups.
Senior continuity
Not publicly disclosed.
Recent evidence
Parent PNC agreed in May 2025 to acquire Aqueduct Capital Group to complement Harris Williams' capabilities (PNC newsroom).
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
A subsidiary of The PNC Financial Services Group with sponsor-heavy, global positioning; no published deal-size band and no published senior-continuity commitment.
Primary sources
About (offices, positioning) · PNC on Harris Williams (ownership) · Aqueduct announcement
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

11. William Blair

Chicago · 30+ offices worldwide with strategic partners

Why No. 11
Employee-owned independence with full capital-markets capability; published aggregates ($582B+ in M&A since 2021) indicate a practice centered well above the lower middle market.
Best fit
Owners who want an employee-owned global bank pairing M&A with equity and debt financing capability.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed.
Sector focus
12 published banking sectors, including technology, healthcare IT and services, medical technology, biopharma, consumer, financial services and industrial growth products.
Geography
Chicago headquarters; “more than 30 offices worldwide” together with strategic partners.
Mandate model
Sell- and buy-side M&A, corporate board advisory, and equity and debt financing, within a firm that also spans investment management and private wealth.
Senior continuity
Not publicly disclosed.
Recent evidence
Firm-published banking statistics for July 2021 to June 2026: $582B+ in M&A transaction value and 78% of transactions involving repeat clients (own figures; no external provider cited).
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
Global-partnership positioning and aggregate volumes indicate a practice centered well above the lower middle market, with no published size band or senior-continuity commitment.
Primary sources
Investment banking (sectors, stats) · Who we are (ownership) · Locations
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

12. Houlihan Lokey

Los Angeles · Americas, Europe, Middle East, Asia Pacific · NYSE: HLI

Why No. 12
The most active M&A franchise by LSEG transaction count, and the least lower-middle-market-specific disclosure of the 12: no size band, no continuity commitment, and global-platform economics.
Best fit
Owners who want the most active M&A franchise by transaction count, or who face complex, special-situation or restructuring-adjacent sales.
Published size focus
Not publicly disclosed on its current M&A pages.
Sector focus
11 published industry groups, including business services, consumer, financial services, fintech, healthcare, industrials and technology.
Geography
Los Angeles headquarters with offices across the Americas, Europe, the Middle East and Asia Pacific.
Mandate model
A global investment bank, not a boutique: corporate finance (sell- and buy-side M&A, capital solutions), financial restructuring, and financial and valuation advisory.
Senior continuity
Not publicly disclosed.
Recent evidence
“In 2025, LSEG ranked our firm the No. 1 investment bank for all global M&A transactions” (458 deals; source LSEG, which excludes accounting firms and brokers). Its October 2025 earnings release adds: No. 1 US M&A advisor for the past 10 years by transaction count, per LSEG.
Fees
Not publicly disclosed.
Potential limitation
League-table leadership is measured by deal count across a publicly traded global platform; the firm publishes no deal-size focus and no senior-continuity commitment, so a founder must establish both in the pitch.
Primary sources
M&A page (LSEG ranking) · Industries · Q2 FY2026 earnings release
Last verified
Verified 2026-08-20

We take on few clients by design, so every founder has our full attention. Selling the company you built is a responsibility we treat as our own.

Jeff Barrington, Founder and Managing Director

Who This Guide Is For

Owners of founder-led North American companies, roughly $5 million to $300 million in enterprise value, choosing between specialist boutiques and larger middle-market banks for a full or partial sale.

Verification

12 firms · 45+ primary sources · every card dated. Written by Jeff Barrington. Last verified August 20, 2026. Spotted an outdated fact? Send a correction ›

The Windsor Drake Advisor Fit Matrix: Which Tier Fits Your Transaction?

Practical guidelines, not market rules: no bank on this page publishes a deal-size minimum, and none is claimed for them here. The bands below describe where each advisor type's published record and economics most often align with a founder's outcome.

Advisor tier by enterprise value, 2026 guidelines
Enterprise value Likely advisor type What matters most Common mismatch Next comparison
Below $5M Business broker or regional specialist advisor Fee minimums sized to the deal; a process the economics can support Hiring a firm whose minimum fee consumes the outcome Business broker fees vs. M&A advisor fees
$5M–$25M Specialist boutique (sector or regional) Senior continuity; a buyer list built for your sector Becoming a small mandate inside a large platform Lower-middle-market M&A firms
$25M–$100M Specialist boutique, or a middle-market bank with a named sector team Evidence of closed transactions at this size in your sector Choosing brand prestige over published sector fit The ranking above
$100M–$300M Middle-market bank, or a top specialist with cross-border reach Buyer coverage across geographies; financing complexity Assuming a generalist auction maximizes a sector asset Best M&A advisory firms
Above $300M Larger middle-market or global bank; elite boutique for special situations Capital markets capability; global sponsor coverage Expecting boutique-level senior attention without negotiating it into the engagement letter Top boutique investment banks

When a Boutique Is the Right Choice, and When It Is Not

A specialist boutique earns its place when three conditions hold. The transaction sits inside the firm's published size band, so the mandate is economically important to the advisor rather than marginal. The firm has closed transactions in the seller's sector recently enough that its buyer relationships are current. And the senior banker who wins the mandate is contractually the one who runs it. Where those conditions hold, the seller gets partner-level attention on a process built for one asset. What a boutique does day to day for a private company is covered in our explainer on boutique M&A for private companies.

A boutique is the wrong choice in identifiable situations. If the sale requires concurrent public-market financing, large syndicated debt or a dual-track outcome, a full-service or larger middle-market platform carries workstreams a specialist does not staff. If the realistic buyer universe is dominated by global strategics across several continents, a bank with offices in those markets may reach decision-makers a four-person firm cannot. And below roughly $5M in enterprise value, most advisory fee minimums stop making sense and a broker model can serve the seller better. The honest version of this comparison is conditional; any firm that tells you its model is right for every seller is describing its pipeline, not your transaction.

Fees and Engagement Models

Sell-side fees in this market follow one structure with many variants: a monthly retainer or advisory fee during the engagement, plus a success fee payable at closing. Success fees are usually a percentage of transaction value, flat, scaled down as value rises, or ratcheted up above a target price; engagement letters add a minimum fee, an exclusivity term, expense treatment and a tail that keeps the fee payable if the company sells to an introduced buyer after termination. What the market actually charges is covered in our guide to what M&A advisors charge.

This page quotes no universal fee percentages, because almost nobody publishes them. Across the 12 firms compared, ten publish no fee information at all. Two publish structure without rates: iMerge Advisors states a retainer-plus-success-fee model on its disclosures page, and Windsor Drake publishes its engagement structure, including a $5 million enterprise-value minimum for a cash-fee mandate and an 18-month tail limited to parties contacted in writing, in its fee schedule. Treat any “typical” percentage quoted without a named source, including in earlier versions of this page, as marketing rather than data.

What to negotiate matters more than the headline rate: whether retainer payments credit against the success fee, the tail's length and its limitation to buyers the advisor actually contacted, termination rights, and the fee on seller notes, earnouts and rolled equity. An advisor's willingness to put those terms in writing early is itself evidence of how the process will run.

Questions to Ask Before Signing an Engagement Letter

Run every finalist through the same nine questions, in writing where possible. The pattern of answers is more informative than any single one.

1. Who leads my engagement day to day? A named person, not a team page. Ask how many concurrent mandates that person carries. 2. What have you closed at my size, in my sector, in the last 24 months? Then ask for three references from comparable transactions and check what is publicly verifiable. 3. Which legal entity signs the engagement letter, and how is it licensed? Where US securities activity is involved, search the firm and individual in FINRA BrokerCheck; where Canadian registration is represented, use the CIRO AdvisorReport. 4. Who contacts buyers and who negotiates the LOI? The answer should match question one. 5. How is my buyer list built, and how is confidentiality protected through outreach, NDAs and staged disclosure? 6. What is the full fee structure, including minimum, tail, crediting and expenses? 7. Do you also represent buyers, and how are conflicts handled? A broader platform is not disqualifying, but the answer should be immediate and specific. 8. What does preparation involve? A serious advisor will start from business valuation analysis and an exit-readiness assessment rather than a listing date. 9. How will you run due diligence after the LOI, where most value erosion happens?

Interview two to four firms. Fewer gives you no basis for comparison; more turns selection into its own process and signals indecision to the market.

Founder Questions, Answered Briefly

What is a boutique M&A firm?

A boutique M&A firm is a specialist advisory practice, senior-led and focused on a defined segment by sector, deal size or geography, rather than a full-service bank. For a founder-led company in the lower middle market, the relevant comparison is among boutiques that run competitive sell-side processes, and between those boutiques and the middle-market divisions of larger banks.

What are the best boutique M&A firms for a founder-led company?

Windsor Drake ranks No. 1 for founder-led companies in 2026 under this guide's criteria: sell-side only, a published $5M–$300M enterprise-value band, a named managing director who leads every engagement, fewer than twenty mandates a year, and a published fee structure with minimum and tail terms. Software Equity Group (No. 2) and iMerge Advisors (No. 3) are the closest alternatives for software-only sellers, FOCUS Investment Banking (No. 4) for multi-vertical US and European coverage, and FirePower Capital (No. 5) for Canadian companies. The full ranking covers all 12.

How is a boutique M&A advisor different from an elite boutique investment bank?

Elite boutiques such as the large independent advisory houses serve corporations and boards on transactions typically measured in the hundreds of millions or billions, with public-company advisory, activism defense and restructuring practices. A founder-facing boutique runs private-company sales in the lower middle market. The terms overlap in search results but describe different markets; we compare the elite tier separately in top boutique investment banks.

How is a boutique M&A advisor different from a business broker?

A broker typically lists smaller businesses, commonly below roughly $5M in enterprise value as a practical guideline, and waits for inquiries. An M&A advisor runs a proactive process: institutional marketing materials, targeted outreach under NDA, simultaneous bid deadlines and negotiated terms. The models also price differently, which we break down in business broker fees vs. M&A advisor fees.

How much does a boutique M&A advisor charge?

Almost no firm publishes rates: ten of the 12 compared here disclose nothing, and two disclose structure only. The standard model is a monthly retainer plus a success fee at closing, shaped by minimum fees, tails and crediting terms. Windsor Drake's engagement structure is published in its fee schedule; market-wide structures are covered in what M&A advisors charge.

How many M&A firms should a founder interview?

Two to four. One firm gives you no comparison on process design, fee terms or chemistry; more than four turns selection into its own project and leaks intent more widely than necessary. Use the same written question set for each, compare answers on senior continuity and closed comparable transactions, and weigh who will personally run the process, not who presented the pitch.

How do I verify an M&A advisor's registration and transaction experience?

Where US securities activity is represented, search the firm and the individual in FINRA BrokerCheck; where Canadian registration is represented, search the CIRO AdvisorReport. Some M&A advisors legitimately operate under the SEC's M&A-brokers framework instead; ask which legal entity signs the engagement letter and how it is licensed. Verify transaction claims through dated announcements and references, not tombstone counts.

When is a larger middle-market bank the better choice?

When the transaction needs what scale provides: buyer coverage across several countries, concurrent debt or equity financing, a dual-track outcome, or a sponsor-driven process where the bank's financial-sponsor group carries the relationships. The cost is concentration: none of the five larger firms compared here publishes a size band or a senior-continuity commitment, so both must be negotiated. The full tier-by-tier view is in best M&A advisory firms.

Methodology Notes, Sources and Corrections

Corrections. Spotted an outdated firm fact? Email research@windsordrake.com with a primary source. We verify corrections against regulator records, filings or the firm's own materials, update the page in place, and log the change below. No listed firm paid for inclusion; corrections cannot be purchased either.

Citation. You may cite or reproduce one table or chart from this page with attribution to Windsor Drake and a link to this URL. Data verified August 20, 2026.

Change log

August 20, 2026. Rebuilt with primary-source verification: every firm fact re-checked against filings, regulator records and official pages, and the ranking re-scored under the published criteria. Corrections applied: Woodbridge International is now Mariner (acquired September 2024); FOCUS Investment Banking covers 11 published verticals (previously stated as 12); Houlihan Lokey is identified as a global investment bank rather than a boutique; Raymond James moved from the ranking to a full-service sidebar sourced to its 10-K; removed the “US and UK firms” title claim (no UK-headquartered firm is listed), an unsourced “15 to 30%” outcome claim, and unsourced universal fee ranges. Added Lincoln International's May 2026 NYSE listing (LCLN) and Capstone's December 2025 TM Capital acquisition.

Source ledger

All sources accessed August 20, 2026. Grades: A = filing, regulator or methodology-published league table; B = official firm page or dated announcement.

  1. FirePower Capital, sell-side advisory (B) · firepowercapital.com/advisory/sell-side
  2. FirePower Capital, sectors (B) · firepowercapital.com/sectors
  3. FirePower Capital, IAMConcepts–Accenture transaction (B) · firepowercapital.com/transaction/…iamconcepts…
  4. FirePower Capital, contact and office (B) · firepowercapital.com/contact
  5. FOCUS Investment Banking, industries, 11 verticals (B) · focusbankers.com/industries/
  6. FOCUS Investment Banking, about and senior-continuity statement (B) · focusib.com/about/
  7. FOCUS Investment Banking, Axial Q2 2026 league tables (A) · focusib.com/news/…axials-q2-2026…
  8. FOCUS Investment Banking, FOCUS Securities LLC FINRA/SIPC affiliation (B) · focusib.com/news/…expands-into-europe/
  9. Founders Advisors, homepage and industries (B) · foundersib.com
  10. Founders Advisors, Turing Analytics–Novi Labs transaction, May 2026 (B) · foundersib.com/2026/05/18/…
  11. Founders Advisors, licensing disclosure (B) · foundersib.com/our-people/
  12. Founders Advisors, offices (B) · foundersib.com/contact-us/
  13. iMerge Advisors, who we serve, ARR band and EV tiers (B) · imergeadvisors.com/who-we-serve
  14. iMerge Advisors, homepage and senior-continuity statement (B) · imergeadvisors.com
  15. iMerge Advisors, disclosures, fees and regulatory pathway (B) · imergeadvisors.com/disclosures
  16. Zillow Group press release confirming Virtual Staging AI acquisition (B) · zillow.mediaroom.com, September 10, 2025
  17. Mariner, acquisition announcement, September 3, 2024 (B) · marinerwealthadvisors.com/newsroom/2024/09/03/…
  18. Mariner (Woodbridge), homepage, revenue band and auction model (B) · woodbridgegrp.com
  19. Mariner, Universal Chemicals and Coatings transaction, January 2026 (B) · woodbridgegrp.com/2026/01/09/…
  20. Mariner, acquisition FAQ and ownership (B) · woodbridgegrp.com/faq/…
  21. Software Equity Group, homepage, sell-side exclusivity (B) · softwareequity.com
  22. Software Equity Group, client criteria, revenue band (B) · softwareequity.com/letstalk
  23. Software Equity Group, about, senior tenure (B) · softwareequity.com/about-us
  24. Software Equity Group, Gatewise–Allegion transaction, July 2025 (B) · softwareequity.com/transactions/gatewise-acquired-by-allegion
  25. Windsor Drake, the firm, mandate model and criteria (B) · windsordrake.com/the-firm/
  26. Windsor Drake, fee schedule and engagement structure (B) · windsordrake.com/ma-advisory-fees/
  27. Windsor Drake, Jeff Barrington, leadership and track record (B) · windsordrake.com/jeff-barrington/
  28. Windsor Drake, process (B) · windsordrake.com/how-we-run-a-sale/
  29. Capstone Partners, M&A advisory and broker-dealer footer (B) · capstonepartners.com/services/mergers-and-acquisitions-advisory/
  30. Capstone Partners, homepage, 12 industry groups (B) · capstonepartners.com
  31. Capstone Partners, TM Capital acquisition, January 7, 2026 (B) · capstonepartners.com/insights/press-…tm-capital…
  32. Harris Williams, about, offices and positioning (B) · harriswilliams.com/about-us
  33. PNC, Harris Williams ownership statement (B) · pnc.com/…/mergers-and-acquisitions.html
  34. PNC newsroom, Aqueduct Capital Group agreement, May 20, 2025 (B) · pnc.mediaroom.com
  35. Houlihan Lokey, M&A page, LSEG No. 1 ranking and methodology note (A) · hl.com/services/corporate-finance/mergers-and-acquisitions/
  36. Houlihan Lokey, industries (B) · hl.com/industries/
  37. Houlihan Lokey, Q2 FY2026 earnings release, LSEG boilerplate (A) · hl.com/media/…hli-2q26-earnings-release.pdf
  38. Lincoln International, about, scale and positioning (B) · lincolninternational.com/about-us/
  39. Lincoln International, M&A services, senior bankers statement (B) · lincolninternational.com/services/mergers-acquisitions/
  40. Lincoln International, IPO pricing release, May 19, 2026 (A) · lincolninternational.com/news/…initial-public-offering/
  41. William Blair, investment banking, sectors and firm statistics (B) · williamblair.com/Investment-Banking
  42. William Blair, who we are, employee ownership (B) · williamblair.com/Who-We-Are
  43. William Blair, locations (B) · williamblair.com/Who-We-Are/Locations
  44. Raymond James, investment banking capabilities (B) · raymondjames.com/corporations-and-institutions/investment-banking
  45. Raymond James, Form 10-K, FY2025, headcount (A) · sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/720005/…rjf-20250930.htm
  46. FINRA BrokerCheck, registration verification (A) · brokercheck.finra.org
  47. CIRO AdvisorReport, Canadian registration verification (A) · ciro.ca/advisor-report-search

Request a Confidential Fit Assessment

Tell us your sector, revenue or EBITDA range and timing. A senior advisor will tell you candidly whether Windsor Drake fits, and what advisor profile to interview if it does not. Confidential, and without obligation.