Regulatory · B2B Payments · 2026

DOJ seizes $84M from unlicensed payments firm Capstone; compliance warning for fintech.

Capstone issued a regulatory action on September 25, 2026.

Primary
Capstone
Amount
$84M
Date
September 25, 2026
Sub-sector
B2B Payments

Demonstrates aggressive enforcement against unlicensed payment processors and those obscuring crypto relationships to banks. Sub-$250M payment and crypto-adjacent fintechs should audit licensing, bank disclosure practices, and vendor compliance to avoid similar seizures.

Primary company
Capstone
Counterparty
Not disclosed
Amount
$84M
Event date
September 25, 2026
Sub-sector
B2B Payments
HQ
Not disclosed
Structure
Not disclosed
Source published
Not disclosed
Publisher
PYMNTS

Source: pymnts.com