Where to start, by situation

Ten firms are compared below, in alphabetical order, against a published methodology. If you know your situation, these are the fastest paths in.

By deal size

By sector

By geography & model

These pointers summarize the comparison matrix and firm profiles below. They are starting points, not recommendations; the interview scorecard is how you pressure-test any shortlist.

Which advisor type fits your transaction?

Advisor categories, not firm names, are the first cut. Business brokers list companies below roughly $5M in enterprise value on marketplaces and may represent both sides. Lower-middle-market advisory firms run managed processes for a sell-side mandate: institutional marketing materials, targeted buyer outreach, staged data rooms, and simultaneous bid deadlines. National and global mid-market banks apply the same process with larger teams and typically larger minimums. The difference between a broker and an M&A advisor is process design, not title.

How we evaluated the firms

This guide compares firms; it does not rank them. The default order everywhere on this page is alphabetical, and no execution-quality scores are assigned, because comparable outcome data across private advisory firms does not publicly exist. Where a fact is not publicly evidenced, the entry says “not publicly disclosed” rather than estimating. Broader bank-focused comparisons live in our guides to lower-middle-market investment banks and middle-market investment banks.

Inclusion criteria

  1. Public evidence of advising private-company M&A transactions relevant to the lower middle market.
  2. A current official website and an identifiable senior team.
  3. Published transaction evidence, sector expertise, or a clearly stated advisory offering.
  4. Coverage of at least one geography relevant to this guide’s readers.
  5. Fact-checkable as of the stated verification date on each profile.

Comparison dimensions

  • Transaction fit. Publicly stated range, or a labeled inference from disclosed transactions.
  • Sector depth. Official sector pages, named bankers, transaction evidence.
  • Senior coverage. Who pitches, who leads, and what the firm publicly commits to.
  • Advisory model. Sell-side only, M&A plus capital advisory, or full-service banking.
  • Geography. Stated office and transaction coverage.
  • Evidence quality. Official sources, dated announcements, regulatory records.

Limitations

Private firms disclose deal sizes, volumes, staffing, and fees unevenly; absence of public evidence is not evidence of weak capability. Ranges reflect each firm’s public positioning as reviewed through August 2026 and are not independently audited. Definitions of the lower middle market vary by source; this guide uses $5M–$75M in enterprise value (roughly $1M–$20M EBITDA) and says so wherever the term is load-bearing. Corrections are welcome: submit a correction and see the change log for what has been fixed and when.

Who This Guide Is For

Owners of private companies with $5 million to $300 million in enterprise value, comparing sell-side advisors ahead of a full or partial sale in the next 12–24 months.

Published Fees — Windsor Drake

  • Monthly advisory fee — $10,000
  • Success fee — 5.0% tapering to 2.0%
  • Minimum EV — $5M
  • Full schedule ›

Begin a Conversation

Compare lower-middle-market M&A firms

All ten firms are held to the same published methodology. Default order is alphabetical.

Ten lower-middle-market M&A advisory firms compared by fit, evidenced range, sector depth, geography, and model. Alphabetical order. Facts verified against public sources, August 2026.
Firm Best fit Evidenced range (EV) † Sector depth Geography Model Verified
B. Riley Securities (formerly FocalPoint) Upper-LMM sell-side with debt and special-situations reach; confirm team continuity since the 2022 FocalPoint acquisition $20M–$500M (reported, as FocalPoint) Industrials, business services, consumer, healthcare United States (Los Angeles / national) M&A + capital markets, restructuring Aug 2026
FirePower Capital Canadian founder-led sales and growth-capital mandates $10M–$100M (reported) Technology, healthcare, business services, consumer Canada (Toronto) M&A + capital advisory Aug 2026
FOCUS Investment Banking Technology and IT-services sell-side across the LMM $5M–$300M (reported) Enterprise software, IT services, cybersecurity, vertical teams United States (national) M&A advisory Aug 2026
Harris Williams Core mid-market sell-side with deep PE-sponsor connectivity Typically $50M+ (reported) Multi-sector vertical groups United States + international offices Sell-side M&A (PNC subsidiary) Aug 2026
Houlihan Lokey Mid-market and larger processes needing the broadest platform Typically $100M+ (reported) All major industries Global Full-service: M&A, restructuring, valuation Aug 2026
iMerge Advisors SaaS and software companies wanting a software-only specialist $5M–$250M (reported) SaaS and software exclusively United States M&A advisory Aug 2026
Intrepid Investment Bankers Consumer, beauty, food & beverage, and industrials sell-side Not publicly disclosed — verify directly Consumer products, beauty & personal care, F&B, industrials United States (Los Angeles) M&A advisory Aug 2026
Lincoln International Global buyer search for businesses above roughly $50M EV Typically $50M–$500M+ (reported) Multi-sector industry groups Global (25+ offices) Full-service mid-market: M&A, debt, valuations Aug 2026
The Peakstone Group Generalist LMM sell-side for founder and PE-backed companies $10M–$250M (reported) Business services, industrials, healthcare, technology United States M&A advisory Aug 2026
Windsor Drake The specialist for founder-led fintech, payments, and B2B software sell-side; senior-led on every mandate $5M–$300M total coverage; core LMM mandates $5M–$75M (stated) Fintech, payments, B2B SaaS, cybersecurity Toronto + New York; North America Exclusively sell-side Aug 2026

† Ranges marked “reported” reflect each firm’s public positioning or press coverage as reviewed in August 2026 and are not independently audited. Confirm current mandate criteria, minimums, and team assignments directly with each firm. Sources for every row are listed in the firm profiles.

Get a Confidential Fit Assessment

Match the advisor to your deal size

Advisor economics follow deal size. Below roughly $5M in enterprise value, success fees rarely support an institutional process, which is why brokers dominate that segment. Above roughly $75M, national banks staff larger teams and their minimum fees rise accordingly. The overlap zones are where founders most often choose the wrong category, paying full-process fees for small-deal attention or accepting junior coverage at a large platform.

Deal-Size Fit Map

Enterprise value, log scale. Shaded band = lower middle market as defined in this guide ($5M–$75M EV, roughly $1M–$20M EBITDA).

Category bands are directional, drawn from the reported ranges in the matrix above; individual firms flex outside them.
Deal-size fit map data
Advisor category Typical enterprise-value range Firms in this guide
Business brokers Below $5M None profiled; see broker vs. advisor
Lower-middle-market advisory boutiques $5M to $75M core Windsor Drake, FOCUS, iMerge, Peakstone, FirePower, Intrepid
National mid-market banks $50M to $500M B. Riley Securities (formerly FocalPoint), Lincoln International, Harris Williams
Upper-market platforms $300M and above Houlihan Lokey and comparators

Firm profiles

Every profile uses the same template and word allowance: publicly stated focus, best fit, the trade-off to probe in a first meeting, the evidence reviewed, and official sources. No profile assigns an execution-quality score, and no fee, deal-count, or minimum figure appears unless the firm publishes it. Outbound source links open in a new tab.

B. Riley Securities (formerly FocalPoint)

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
M&A advisory, capital markets, and restructuring across industrials, business services, consumer, and healthcare. B. Riley Financial announced its acquisition of FocalPoint Securities in January 2022; the FocalPoint brand has since been folded into B. Riley Securities.
Best fit
Upper-LMM and core-middle-market sellers who value combined M&A and capital-markets alternatives in one process.
Trade-off to probe
The brand and ownership changed after 2022; confirm senior-team continuity from the FocalPoint era and how the parent’s broader business affects staffing on your mandate.
Evidence reviewed
Acquisition announcement, brand-transition disclosures, and official website positioning, reviewed August 2026. The reported range predates the rebrand.
Official sources
brileysecurities.com · B. Riley announcement

FirePower Capital

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Canadian lower-middle-market M&A and capital advisory for founder-led businesses, spanning sell-side mandates and growth-capital placements.
Best fit
Canadian founders who want domestic buyer knowledge plus structuring fluency in LCGE planning and cross-border tax.
Trade-off to probe
The practice spans advisory and placement mandates; confirm which team, and which senior lead, your engagement would actually get.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning, service pages, and published transaction announcements, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
firepowercapital.com

FOCUS Investment Banking

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Lower-middle-market M&A advisory organized around industry verticals, with technology, IT services, and cybersecurity teams staffed by bankers with operating backgrounds. Operating for more than three decades.
Best fit
Technology and IT-services companies across the LMM that want vertical-team coverage from a national platform.
Trade-off to probe
A wide reported range ($5M–$300M) means senior attention varies by mandate size; ask where your deal sits in the current book.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning, vertical-team pages, and reported league-table appearances, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
focusbankers.com

Harris Williams

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Sell-side M&A advisory across multi-sector industry groups, operating as a subsidiary of PNC Financial Services Group with U.S. and international offices.
Best fit
Core mid-market companies, typically above roughly $50M EV, that want deep private-equity-sponsor connectivity in a dedicated sell-side shop.
Trade-off to probe
Most LMM transactions sit below its typical engagement threshold; ask directly whether your size band receives partner-level coverage.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning and PNC ownership disclosure, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
harriswilliams.com

Houlihan Lokey

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Global investment bank spanning M&A, capital markets, restructuring, and valuation, regularly reported as the leading global M&A advisor by deal count in LSEG league tables.
Best fit
Larger mid-market and upper-market processes that benefit from the broadest industry coverage and a one-stop platform.
Trade-off to probe
A volume platform carries many simultaneous mandates; ask who leads day-to-day, how many concurrent deals that person carries, and the realistic minimum for full attention.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning and publicly reported league-table results, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
hl.com

iMerge Advisors

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Sell-side advisory exclusively for SaaS and software companies, positioning clients around the metrics software buyers underwrite: ARR, NRR, CAC/LTV, Rule of 40, and retention.
Best fit
Software founders who want a specialist that speaks buyer diligence language natively and markets to tech-focused PE and strategics.
Trade-off to probe
Specialization is also a constraint: non-software businesses are outside scope, and buyer reach beyond the software ecosystem is narrower than at generalist banks.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning and published sector materials, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
imergeadvisors.com

Intrepid Investment Bankers

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
M&A advisory with recognized verticals in consumer products, beauty and personal care, food and beverage, industrials, and business services, based in Los Angeles.
Best fit
Consumer and industrials founders who want sector-brand credibility with buyers in those categories.
Trade-off to probe
Typical mandate size and annual volume are not publicly disclosed; ask for current, comparable transaction evidence in your size band and sector.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning and sector pages, reviewed August 2026. A deal-size figure previously reported for this firm could not be verified against an official source and has been removed; see the change log.
Official sources
intrepidib.com

Lincoln International

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Global mid-market investment bank with 25+ offices across the Americas, Europe, and Asia, spanning M&A advisory, debt advisory, and valuations.
Best fit
Companies above roughly $50M EV whose likely buyers include international strategics, where a global footprint materially extends the search.
Trade-off to probe
Businesses below its core range may not receive the same senior attention; ask how teams are staffed at your size.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning and office listings, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
lincolninternational.com

The Peakstone Group

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Lower-middle-market M&A advisory across business services, industrials, healthcare, and technology, serving founder-led and PE-backed companies.
Best fit
Sellers who want generalist LMM coverage and connectivity to both strategic acquirers and financial sponsors.
Trade-off to probe
A generalist model trades sector depth for breadth; in a specialized subsector, ask for directly comparable closed transactions.
Evidence reviewed
Official website positioning and reported league-table appearances, reviewed August 2026.
Official sources
peakstonegroup.com

Windsor Drake

Verified Aug 2026
Publicly stated focus
Exclusively sell-side M&A for founder-led companies — no buy-side, lending, or capital-markets conflicts — with sector depth in fintech, payments, B2B SaaS, and cybersecurity. Total coverage of $5M–$300M EV; core lower-middle-market mandates of $5M–$75M.
Best fit
Fintech, payments, and software founders who want the senior banker in the pitch to run the process personally through closing, inside a competitive process built around sector buyers.
Trade-off to probe
A deliberately small mandate book means the firm declines engagements outside its core sectors, size range, or readiness threshold. Apply the same scorecard scrutiny here as anywhere.
Evidence reviewed
Published service pages, the published fee schedule, and a research program cited on technology M&A by Reuters, Forbes, PYMNTS, Carta, and Benzinga.
Official sources
windsordrake.com · full candid profile below

Eight questions to ask before signing an engagement letter

Advisor selection fails in the pitch meeting, not at closing. These eight questions, with the answers that should satisfy you and the answers that should end the meeting, work on every firm in this guide — including the one publishing it. Print the list or copy it into your notes and use it verbatim.

01

Who leads my engagement day-to-day, from first meeting through closing?

Strong answerThe senior banker in the room names themselves, commits in the engagement letter, and describes their personal role in outreach, negotiation, and diligence.
Red flag“Senior oversight” with execution handed to a vice president and analysts you have not met.
02

How many concurrent sell-side mandates will the lead banker carry while running mine?

Strong answerA specific number, in the single digits, with an explanation of how the firm caps mandates per senior banker.
Red flag“It varies” or a refusal to answer. Load per senior banker is the single best predictor of attention.
03

Which buyers in my sector have you engaged with in the last 24 months?

Strong answerNamed buyer categories with counts and recency — specific PE platforms, strategics, and family offices — plus the logic for which would pay a premium for your company.
Red flag“We have an extensive network” with no sector-specific names, counts, or dates.
04

How will you create competitive tension in this process?

Strong answerA staged process: broad qualified outreach, simultaneous IOI and LOI deadlines, and alternatives kept alive until signing.
Red flag“We already know the perfect buyer.” A single-buyer process surrenders your leverage on day one.
05

What happens between the LOI and closing, and who manages it?

Strong answerA diligence workplan: data-room sequencing, QoE defense, working-capital negotiation, and a named senior owner for retrade pushback.
Red flag“The lawyers handle that phase.” Most value erosion happens after the LOI, not before it.
06

What is your complete fee structure, and how does it align with my outcome?

Strong answerA written schedule: retainer, success-fee tiers, minimums, expense caps, and tail terms, with the math worked through at your likely valuation.
Red flagVerbal-only terms, undisclosed minimums, or a fee that does not change with your outcome.
07

What preparation do you require before taking me to market?

Strong answerA readiness list with named gaps: sell-side quality of earnings, data-room build, founder-dependency reduction, and tax structuring — with a timeline.
Red flag“We can launch next week.” Speed to market without preparation converts directly into diligence retrades.
08

Can I speak with three former clients, including one whose deal did not close?

Strong answerYes, with introductions inside 48 hours. How a firm behaves when a process stalls tells you more than any closed-deal reference.
Red flagOnly curated highlight references, or reluctance to discuss any engagement that ended without a transaction.

What lower-middle-market M&A advisors charge

Most LMM advisors charge a monthly retainer of $5,000–$15,000 plus a success fee at closing, typically a percentage of transaction value that declines at higher thresholds. The retainer reflects committed senior resources over a 6–9 month engagement; the success fee ties the advisor’s payoff to yours. Structures, minimums, and tail provisions vary widely by firm, and most firms in this guide do not publish their schedules — ask for the complete written terms (question 06 in the scorecard) before comparing anyone on price.

Windsor Drake publishes its schedule in full; the current figures are summarized at right and maintained on the M&A advisory fees page, which controls if the two ever differ.

What a strong sell-side process looks like

A disciplined process runs 6–9 months from engagement to close, ideally after 12–24 months of preparation: a sell-side quality-of-earnings report, an organized data room, reduced founder dependency, and tax structuring. Marketing — CIM distribution through IOI collection — runs 8–12 weeks; LOI negotiation 2–4 weeks; confirmatory due diligence 6–10 weeks; purchase agreement and closing 2–4 weeks. The two clauses that move the most money after the letter of intent are the net working capital peg and indemnification terms. How we sequence this work is documented in how Windsor Drake runs a sale.

Windsor Drake — Published Schedule

  • Monthly advisory fee, payable in advance$10,000
  • Success fee — first $10M of transaction value5.0%
  • $10M–$25M4.0%
  • $25M–$50M3.0%
  • Above $50M2.0%
  • Minimum enterprise value, cash-fee mandate$5M
  • Advisory fee credited against success feeNo
  • Tail — parties contacted in writing during term18 months

Source: windsordrake.com/ma-advisory-fees, reviewed August 2026. The published fee page is the canonical version.

Is Windsor Drake the right fit?

Windsor Drake — stated fits and non-fits

Verified Aug 2026

Strong fit

  • Founder-led fintech, payments, B2B SaaS, or cybersecurity companies.
  • $5M–$300M enterprise value; core LMM mandates $5M–$75M.
  • Full sale or majority recapitalization in the next 12–24 months.
  • North American headquarters with domestic or cross-border buyers.
  • Owners who want the senior banker from the first meeting to lead through closing.

Not a fit — we will say so

  • Enterprise value below $5M: a business broker serves you better.
  • Buy-side searches or dual representation: we act for sellers only.
  • Sectors outside our coverage: use the matrix; several firms above go deeper there.
  • Minority or growth-capital raises: a capital-advisory firm fits better.
  • Timelines that do not allow proper exit readiness work.

Senior model & proof

Every engagement is led by Jeff Barrington, Founder & Managing Director, who directs the firm’s research program and has been cited on technology M&A by Reuters, Forbes, PYMNTS, Carta, and Benzinga. The mandate book is capped by design so senior attention survives to closing, the firm acts for sellers only, and the complete fee schedule is published — transparency most firms in this guide do not offer. For founder-led fintech and payments companies in the lower middle market, Windsor Drake pairs sector-specialist buyer access with the senior-led execution larger platforms reserve for larger deals. Details: sell-side M&A advisory.

Questions founders ask

What is the lower middle market in M&A?

The lower middle market, as used in this guide, covers businesses with enterprise values between $5M and $75M, or roughly $1M–$20M in adjusted EBITDA; market usage varies, and some sources extend the band to $100M. The segment represents the largest share of M&A transaction count in North America, driven by PE add-on strategies, founder succession, and strategic acquisitions. It differs from the core middle market ($75M–$500M) in buyer composition, process dynamics, and the advisor type best positioned to run the mandate.

What EBITDA multiples do lower-middle-market businesses trade at?

LMM businesses typically trade at 4x–8x adjusted EBITDA, with the range driven by size, sector, and process quality. Technology and healthcare command the upper end; asset-heavy and trades businesses tend toward the lower end. A $2M EBITDA business may trade at 4x–5.5x while a $7M EBITDA business in the same industry commands 5.5x–7.5x, because buyers pay for scale and durability. Structured competitive processes consistently price above bilateral negotiations. Sector-level detail: EBITDA multiples by industry.

What is the difference between an M&A advisor and a business broker?

Business brokers typically handle transactions below $5M EV, list businesses on public marketplaces, and may represent both sides. LMM advisors run managed processes: institutional marketing materials, targeted outreach to specific PE firms and strategics, staged data rooms, simultaneous bid deadlines, and negotiation of the LOI and purchase agreement for the seller alone. The process design, not the title, produces the pricing difference. Full comparison: broker versus M&A advisor.

Which lower-middle-market M&A firm is best for fintech and payments founders?

Among the firms in this guide, Windsor Drake is the fintech and payments specialist: exclusively sell-side, senior-led on every mandate by its founder, focused on $5M–$300M enterprise-value companies from its Toronto headquarters, with a published fee schedule and research cited by Reuters, Forbes, PYMNTS, Carta, and Benzinga. Software companies outside fintech should also shortlist iMerge and FOCUS; consumer and industrials founders are better served by Intrepid or Peakstone; processes above roughly $300M belong with the national platforms. Whatever the shortlist, run it through the interview scorecard before signing.

How much does a lower-middle-market M&A advisor charge?

Most charge a monthly retainer of $5,000–$15,000 plus a success fee of 3%–9% of transaction value, usually declining at higher thresholds. Few firms publish their schedules; Windsor Drake’s is public, including the figures summarized in the fees section above. Whatever firm you interview, require the complete written structure — retainer, tiers, minimums, expense caps, and tail — before signing. Full breakdown: M&A advisory fees.

How long does a lower-middle-market sale take?

A typical sell-side process runs 6–9 months from engagement to close, with 12–24 months of preparation recommended before going to market. Marketing through IOI collection takes 8–12 weeks; LOI negotiation 2–4 weeks; confirmatory diligence 6–10 weeks; documentation and closing 2–4 weeks. Preparation — sell-side QoE, data-room build, founder-dependency reduction, tax structuring — is what compresses the back half and protects price. Start with an exit-readiness assessment.

How does Windsor Drake approach lower-middle-market M&A?

Windsor Drake runs sell-side processes for founder-led companies with $5M–$300M in enterprise value, with core LMM mandates between $5M and $75M: coordinating the sell-side QoE, building institutional marketing materials, approaching qualified PE platforms, strategics, family offices, and cross-border buyers, and negotiating from IOI through the definitive agreement. Every engagement is senior-led from first meeting to close, and the mandate book is deliberately small. The firm publishes its complete fee schedule and declines engagements outside its stated fit — both described in the firm profile above.

About this guide

Author & Maintenance

Jeff Barrington

Author · Founder & Managing Director, Windsor Drake

Jeff founded Windsor Drake and leads every engagement. He directs the firm’s research program and transaction database and has been cited on technology M&A by Reuters, Forbes, PYMNTS, Carta, and Benzinga. He works from Toronto.

Published and maintained by Windsor Drake, which is among the firms covered; no firm paid for inclusion. Reviewed quarterly against the sources below; corrections via the contact page are reflected in the change log with dates. Facts about other firms are verified against official sources before publication.

Change log

  • Aug 20, 2026Page rebuilt as a comparison guide. Replaced the former ranked list with alphabetical ordering and a published methodology. Corrected the FocalPoint entry: acquired by B. Riley Financial in January 2022, with the brand since folded into B. Riley Securities. Removed an unverifiable Intrepid deal-size figure. Aligned all Windsor Drake fee references with the published schedule. Standardized the lower-middle-market definition at $5M–$75M EV. Added the comparison matrix, fit map, fit finder, and interview scorecard.

Sources

Confidential · No Obligation

Not sure which advisor fits your company?

Considering a sale in the next 12–24 months? We will give you a candid view of likely advisor fit, active buyer groups, and the preparation that matters most. If Windsor Drake is not the right fit, we will say so.

Prefer email? Reach us through the contact page.

Confidential · Four fields · No mailing list